top of page

I needed a man.


“… he is not ashamed to call them brothers.” Hebrews 2:11b

It was never hard to believe in God - the Maker, the King, the Mighty One. I've always found His glory, His ways, His power, and His “God-ness” fascinating.

I knew He loved me. And in those early days of knowing Him, I never thought much about shame.

Then I saw my weakness.

Terrorizing weakness. The reality of my need was so great, I could not reconcile it with my concept of God, no matter how hard I tried. By grace I’d been saved, but what did it really look like for grace to find me in time of need? I’d cry out to Him, but always with a little despair: I could not bridge the chasm between my need and His perfection.

I needed a man - someone who knew what it felt like – to need, to struggle, to be nearly overcome.

I needed a man who would embrace and love and accept me in that terrorizing place. And not just any man could do that.

He had to be proven, trustworthy, tender, pure – I needed the perfect man.

Only the Sacred Man would do.

“Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might break the power of him who holds the power of death--that is, the devil…” Hebrews 2:14

Yet there is a God who shared in our flesh and blood – a God who chose to be “made like us in every way” (Heb 2:17).

He's a God who’d see our weakness, and choose to step into humanity - vulnerable, susceptible humanity.

This man – while fully God - didn’t cling to His divinity, nor shield himself from fallen world.

To think that this man, this God, fully knows the things I faced... that changes everything. He’s probably more acquainted with my sin, my need and my weakness than I am, for he chose to carry them in His body when He approached the cross.

In His humanity, He chose to know me.

His humanity proves there is no weakness in which he’ll refuse to meet us. This God refuses to be deterred by human shame.

In Jesus – God in vulnerable flesh – I found a man unashamed of my need.

And that thought – that reality is healing me; convincing me of His acceptance.

When I saw this Sacred Man… there was only one thing to do: accept His acceptance of me – weakness and all. And that, my friend, is for another post.

With a love that’s not my own,

Kaylee

Both the one who makes people holy and those who are made holy are of the same family. So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers and sisters. Hebrews 2:11


bottom of page